Special Offers

View all special offers

Club House Hotel Kilkenny Reviews



 
 
April 2017
The helpful staff were the highlight for me of my visit to your pleasant and centrally located hotel. the parking was excellent and the room comfortable.
 
********
 
April 2017
We were made to feel right at home, even though the hotel was very busy. All of your staff were excellent. We will stay again
 
*********
 
March 2017
We were made to feel right at home, even though the hotel was very busy. All of your staff were excellent. We will stay again
 
************
 
Feburary 2017
Evening meal was lovely as usual. Steak was delicious
 
***********
 
January 2017
Stayed for 2 over new year. We were so impressed by everything. While the hotel is quite old, in our opinion it only added to the charm. I would definitely recommend it and would certainly stay again.
 
*****
 
January 2017
Very personalble staff, especially Selina
 
 
*********
 
 
Trip advisor November 2016
5 of 5 stars

Great place this.....appears a tad dated until you try it out and enjoy it.
Food is actually top class with a lot more invention and style than you would expect from a "period" hotel. Value is excellent and service is also. Rooms are perfectly adequate and B/B rates very fair. Location scores big time as it's in the centre of everything....it's own bar is great for a group.

 

Bookings . Com Review  November 2016

Great location, very close to shops and tourist attractions such as the castle. The hotel is one of the oldest in the city and has retained many of the original featues. Some peolpe might call it old fashioned but we thought it had a charming and cosy atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were spacious and very clean, with the most comfortable hotel bed i've ever slept in! Would definitely book here the next time we're in kilkenny.

Trip Advisor Review December 2016

Reviewed 31 December 2011
1
 
person found this review helpful

After an exciting first day of driving on the other side of the road, we were happy to find the Club House was everything Rick Steves said it would be. The rooms were comfortable, the service at the bar was excellent, food was good and the location is great. Parking in the back was a real plus. Our room was good sized and comfortable. We would stay again.


Trip Advisor Review - March 2016

The Club House Hotel is a 200-year-old establishment in the very heart of the town center of Kilkenny City, Ireland. We were greeted with smiles and helpful service throughout our 6-day stay. The room was spacious and clean, the beds comfortable and all of the necessary amenities were furnished.

The continental breakfast could include pan-fried trout, poached eggs, delicious brown bread, etc. There is free parking in the back and Kilkenny Castle is a true 5-minute walk from the hotel. This is not an older hotel looking to live on its reputation, rather an on-going effort to reach back to the time when it was the center of the Hunt Club of Kilkenny and at the heart of the social life of the city.

I can't speak highly enough of the owner and the staff. The restaurant menu is superb and the prices for everything are very reasonable.

 

Trip Advisor Review - July 2016

I stayed at the Club House for a lengthy business trip.My job takes me literally all over the world so I get to see LOTS of hotels from a professional angle. Most I would say are good but never seem to get the personal touch over. NOT so the Club House The friendly Irish isn't a cliché, from the owner- who always had time for a chat and to buy you a beer or that evenings meal! To the night porter nothing was too much trouble .The meals were first rate -proper cooked food and plenty of it .Not processed "ping " food from freezer to microwave but real like the rest of the hotel.
Conclusion best place I've stopped in ten years around the world.

 

Trip Advisor Review - September 2016

Our experience at this early 18th Century Hotel was marvelous. This is a rare old building which has remained inhabited since the 1700s, and is decorated and furnished in lavish old style. What a treat to be able to stay there, especially in such a historic city as Kilkenny.

Unlike modern hotels,(ubiquitous, you could be in any city, they are all so similar),you know you are experiencing a part of Kilkenny's history and unique charm of the old world.

Wonderful food and entertainment, not to mention the kindness of the staff.

 

Trip Advisor Review - February 2016

We stayed here in January 2007 for a long weekend away. We had heard so much about Kilkenny from friends and we had to experience it for our selves.

We discovered this small family run hotel by accident and it turned out to be the best accident we have ever had. It's location is second to none (close to the castle and the bus stops right outside).

Kilkenny has some great bars, but if there is a band playing at the hotel make sure to have a look (we ended up spending the night drinking buckets of Kilkenny beer!!- had a bit of a sore head the next day though).

We found the staff to be helpful and they answered all of our many questions. It is a beautiful old hotel with some amazing features, especially the restaurant. This hotel really is a breath of fresh air, it is not trying to be something it is not, it is just a really nice family ran hotel for people who want to experience a true Irish welcome.

 

Trip Advisor Review - September 2016

My wife and I traveled from our home in the British Virgin Islands to visit family in the UK. Neither of us had visited Ireland (for any length of time) before...even though I grew up in England.

We flew into Dublin and enjoyed the few hours on the road getting to Kilkenny...lost for a few minutes we called the hotel and were given more specific directions. From that initial contact we received nothing but excellent service from all staff members that we encountered.

The hotel is ideally located for shopping, eating out, churches cathedrals etc...could not have chosen a better location.
The rooms, restaurant, bar are all simply charming. I recommend the full Irish breakfast. I read another review that the hotel appeared "tired"...I can only hope that if entertained for over 200 years that I would remain as inspiring and accommodating as the hotel proved to be.